Note: Workflow Forms is only available as an Add-on.
Workflow Use Case
Creating a Workflow
Now move on to building your form. Workflow forms are built like normal, but you'll notice they're in Draft mode until the entire Workflow is published. While you're building, keep in mind Sections are what act as break off points for the different Workflow participants. Sections are used when mapping out the steps in the Workflow Editor.
The Entry Step (Step 1) initiates the Workflow. This is the first person who fills out the Form, which sets the entire Workflow into motion. On the Entry Step, you'll want to assign (drag over) the Section(s) of your form the end-user will fill out for this first step. In the example below, we've pulled over the "Employee Section" only because that's the only portion we want the initial person to fill out.
Although following steps in the Workflow will be assigned to specific individuals, this first step is not. Think of this first step as the everyday portion of the form anyone can fill out to kick the Workflow into motion.
You can choose whether this person needs to be authenticated (has a Formstack account) or non-authenticated (anyone can kick off the Workflow Form). The only reason you would want to set authentication on the Entry Step is if this form will only be used internally by individuals on your Formstack account.
Once the Entry Step is completed, you can move to add additional steps. We'll add a Step 2 to this Workflow and set our name for this step. Like with the Entry Step, we want to drag over Sections that will be completed by the individual in Step 2. We want to assign "Can Edit" rights to these Sections because we want the Step 2 participant to actually fill out these fields.
But in addition to this, let's say we want the Step 2 participant to also be able to view the submitted data from Step 1. We'll drag over the Section assigned to Step 1 also and give it "Can View" rights. This will allow the Step 2 participant to view the form data saved from Step 1 while also being able to fill out his/her own assigned Sections.
While you do have the option to assign the participant of Step 2 via a field on your form, this field value must still be a valid email address that's associated with a Formstack user on the account.
Deleting a StepIf you create a Step and then decide that you want to delete it, you can do so by clicking the three dots in the right corner of the section and then choosing 'Delete this Step'. From this menu, you can also add Steps before or after the current Step.
Publish Your Workflow
After the Entry Step of the form is completed, each participant assigned to your Workflow will receive an email notification from Formstack when it's his/her turn to fill out that portion of the Workflow Form. Here's an example of the email sent to the next person in the Workflow. Clicking on "Complete Step" opens the form and triggers the next portion of the Workflow.
You'll see new changes when viewing submissions on a Workflow Form. The Submissions page will now show new separation among Completed Workflows and Workflows in Progress. Completed Workflows have gone through each step of the process and are saved as submissions. Workflows in Progress are partially completed, saved Workflows that still have steps remaining.
With Workflows, there is also some brand new data being collected along with the submission data. You can now see data points on these forms such as Active Step, Request ID, Participant(s), Submission Completed Time, and Process Time. You can also see additional Workflow Progress data by clicking into each submission.
Notification and confirmation emails, as well as integrations, will be triggered like normal once a form has gone through the entire Workflow and is submitted as a Completed Workflow. You can still use Routing Logic on these emails and integrations like with normal forms.
Sharing Workflow Submissions
Completed Workflow submissions can be shared via Share Link or RSS Feed just like a normal form. Unfortunately, submissions that are still in progress cannot be shared.
Updating Workflow Status
Visit the Workflow Editor to make changes to the current status of the Workflow. There are three options for the status.
• Active and accepting Submissions
• Active and not accepting Submissions (allows for any started Workflows to be finished but no new Workflows to start)
• Inactive (turns off any data collected on your form entirely)
Check out this video below for an overview of Workflow Forms.
• Our Approvals add-on does not currently work with Workflow Forms
• The Multi-page feature is disabled for Workflow Forms because multiple participants are completing a workflow. A Step must be on a single page.
• The Event and Credit Card fields are not available on Workflow Forms
• 'On-form' payment processors are also not available on Workflow Forms
• Save & Resume, Progress Indicator, and Skip Validation features are not available on Workflow Forms
• If you move any 'in-progress' submissions to 'complete' status, we do not force integrations to run in this scenario. You'll have to click into the individual submissions and force run the integration.
• When Data Encryption is enabled on the form, a Workflow step containing viewable data from a previous step of the Workflow will require the participant to enter the encryption password.
• Editing a Workflow
• Workflows Preview
• Workflow Emails